Reviews for Smittybilt GEN2 Overlander Tent - 2583 | 4wheelparts.com

Reviews: Smittybilt GEN2 Overlander Tent - 2583

4.6
4.6

106 Ratings

Smittybilt GEN2 Overlander Tents

Part Number: S/B2583

Lowest Price! Guaranteed!

  • Open size 95" W x 56" L x 51" H
  • Sleeps 2-3
  • Bed size: Full, 92” x 55”
  • Gray tent body with light gray rainfly
  • (1") 2.5cm aluminum/polyurethane sandwich base
  • Max load rating 660lbs/300kg
  • 600d heavy-duty rip stop polyester, waterproof and polyurethane-impregnated top
  • Anodized aluminum tent frame poles
  • Stainless steel hinges
  • Lightweight, waterproof 420d oxford rainfly
  • 4mm spring steel durable rainfly poles
  • Telescopic anodized aluminum ladder
  • Cover made from heavy-duty 1040gsm, 2000d PVC with Velcro for waterproofing/UV resistant straps
  • LED strip
  • No-see-um mosquito screens
  • Two-year warranty
  • California Residents: WARNING

Price : $1,427.99



+ Add to Wishlist
Sort By:
4.0
Good Tent

I have set this up three times now and it easy to do. Takes about 10 min. Nice sleep and pockets to put keys and stuff in. Good tent for the price.


By Justin from Nevada | 7/23/22  
5.0
Great tent

Love this tent. Worked great. Slept like a baby. Alot better than sleeping on the ground.


By Bruce from San Antonio, TX | 7/17/22  
2.0
Hmmm it’s cheaper for a reason I suppose

Just purchased, , set up and used over 1 weekend. Nice Tent but… Mounting method …The mount is only as strong as it’s weakest point. Adding bigger bolts at bottom of a piece of aluminum being held on by approx 2mm of a 4mm bolt’s nut, does not make the bracket stronger…there is not much holding that tent onto your roof.. Guess the competitive pricing has to come from somewhere, but should not be at the expense of a decent mounting system. Calling it a 2-3 person? Really? I know tent capacity #’s are usually off.Decent for 2 if you’re comfy in a double bed, in a room no wider than your bed.Personally think I should have spent the extra for the XL l Should there be enough room around the stitching of the roof peaks to fit a fat pen tip?Even if there is extra sealant, seemingly installed to prevent leaking? Otherwise, looks good, sets up easy, and folds back up.


By Look John Its A Rubicon from Toronto Ontario | 7/6/22  
5.0
Amazing Tent!!

This is the best rooftop tent! Very roomy! Easy set up! The mattress is great!


By T Moore | 7/4/22  
3.0
Great product for younger campers.

I believe this is a great product. The instructions were lacking in many ways.After installing it, we have decided it is not the product we want to continue with. We are both shorter in stature and reaching the zippers and tucking parts in to fold up has been a challenge. nothing to say that we both are in our mid 70's and it takes more physical ability than we either one have.


By kvloucks from Western Colorado | 6/19/22  
5.0
Best tent in its price range hands down.

This is my second tent from smittybilt. The first one I mounted on top of an off road tear drop. This one is on my jeep gladiator. I absolutely love it. Best tent in its price range hands down.


By Luke | 6/13/22  
5.0
Great Tent!

I absolutely love the new color and ladder! Great tent!


By Allan G from Dominican Republic | 5/23/22  
4.0
Great tent for the $$$

Mattress is on the firm side. But it’s a great buy for the quality. Wife is already wanting to out more!


By Jacob from Oklahoma | 4/7/22  
5.0
Gen 2 tent.

Bought this on sale for $1100 couldnt be happier with my purchase. Only negative is the directions are not the best


By Eric Dewechter from New Jersey | 4/4/22  
3.0
Improper alignment

We got the tent, put it on the car and found that It does not line up properly and it would not mount on the crossbars correctly, could only secure it on 3 points instead of 4. When we also closed it and put the cover on, one of the zippers was broken. We have been trying to get in touch with SmittyBilt or 4WP and have not been able to. Very frustrated with the customer service.


By Srichardsonnn | 9/28/21  
5.0
Roof top tent

This is my first roof top tent and I love it, it’s awesome me and my wife use it just about every weekend on our camping adventures


By William from Ohio | 7/26/21  
5.0
We LOVE our RTT!!!

We purchased our Smittybilt Gen2 about a year ago and it has been a great purchase! There is plenty of space for two people. It has a light that is powered via USB that makes the tent very bright and the foam mattress is actually pretty comfortable. We live in Florida and we camped through a tornado warning, very very heavy rain and wind and water did not get inside and our tent held up very nicely. We plan to take this bad boy across the US on our honeymoon!


By LosFlatlanders from Florida | 5/24/21  
5.0
Nice upgrade

Upgraded from a gen1 XL to the Gen2 and everything I complained about in the gen1 was addressed in the gen2 very happy with this tent


By Jhroy from Saskatchewan | 5/23/21  
4.0
great tent

love the tent. easy to set up. super durable. i was on south padre island with 28mph winds with the rainfly on and didnt have a problem. no wind comes thru the sides of the tent or anything. only complaint is what all rooftop tents suffer from and thats the mattress is horribly uncomfortable. but a 3” foam mattress topper can fix that


By Eric from Austin, TX | 4/5/21  
5.0
Excellent

Excellent product. Excellent price. Buy gen2 it’s for far better than gen1


By Diego a. from Mexico | 3/8/21  
5.0
Smittybilt overlander RTT Gen2

Easy going with assembly and very pleased with quality. Wife and I took a nap in the driveway after initial setup and were nice and toasty even though it was only 36 degrees outside.


By Jeremy from Vermont | 2/26/21  

Sign up to receive deals by email!

Sign up to receive deals by text!

Please Enter valid number

By submitting, you agree to receive recurring autodialed marketing text msgs (e.g. cart reminders) to the mobile number used at opt-in from 4 Wheel Parts (4WP) on 21208. Consent is not a condition of purchase. Msg frequency may vary. Msg & data rates may apply. Reply HELP for help and STOP to cancel. See Terms and Conditions & Privacy Policy