Reviews for Smittybilt G.E.A.R. Tailgate Cover (Black) - 5662301 | 4wheelparts.com

Reviews: Smittybilt G.E.A.R. Tailgate Cover (Black) - 5662301

4.4
4.4

27 Ratings

Smittybilt G.E.A.R. Tailgate Covers

Part Number: S/B5662301

Qualifies for Free Shipping

  • 07-18 Wrangler JK, 2 & 4 Door
  • Black Denim
  • 2 large storage pouches
  • 600 denier polyester with PVC liner
  • Interchangeable with PAL/MOLLE pouches
  • California Residents: WARNING

Price : $77.99



+ Add to Wishlist
Sort By:
5.0
Smittybilt GEAR Tailgate Cover

Helps save space, keep gear in one place and looks good.


By Danny from Pooler, GA | 8/4/22  
4.0
Drill bit recommendation/ Screw durability

Drilled recommended size before installing fasteners and 2 of the fasteners still snapped. Drilled a size up from instructed size and had no issues.


By Lmw120 | 6/2/22  
4.0
Works great, looks really cool.

Works well. I keep my booster cables, some ratchet straps, etc in one, and some emergency stuff for my dog in the other. Keeps the back of the Jeep nice and organized. I'm docking one star because the screws that are supplied are phillips (star) head, and they struggle to go into the drilled holes before tearing themselves up. I ended up walking 2 blocks to the hardware store and paying $8 for some same sized Robertson (square) metal screws, which worked really well.


By Mike from Montreal QC | 6/28/20  
4.0
Great storage for the cost.

Product is exactly as described. Great storage solution for a 2 door JK.


By Dirk from Forest Lake MN | 5/20/20  
4.0
Good worth getting

Good easy installation. I used rivits and instead of screws. Only issue was the door hinge mount but barely a issue. Good addition storage


By Chris from Delta, BC | 5/19/20  
3.0
Nice unit but needs better support

Works great but the top line will sag and buckle with any weight in the bags. Had to bolt on a steel cover so that it didn't look like stretched out underwear.


By EdJeepster from Sultan, wa | 12/19/15  
3.0
Works well, and fits great on the 2014

Pretty easy to install, just make sure you pull it very tight. Pre-drill holes a bit larger that it recommends so you do not snap off the tip of the screws when using. If installing on 2014 Wrangler, just remove the plastic cover over the wiring harness as there is a channel along the door that the wires will stay in and then you will not have the bum of the plastic cover to worry about. I was able to use the screws that came with the product although they are pretty cheap and can break easily.


By DRS from Redmond, WA | 7/8/14  
5.0
Great storage option.

Installed on my 2014 JK after having great results from the seat storage in my 96 XJ. The only part that was a little unsettling was that you have to drill holes in the tailgate to mount the "backing" that the bags attach to. It's not tough but drilling holes in a jeep before I made the first payment wasn't what I planned on. The good thing though is that it mounts perfectly and since it's screwed into the tailgate it ain't going anywhere!


By G. Warren Kuhn from Marietta, GA | 11/30/13  
5.0
I like it!!

I use it for my first aid kit and car supplies(jumper cables, gloves, ect). I like the ease of access, and it looks great too. Comes with the 2 bags, but you can easily buy more bags from military supply stores or online.


By bigbubba000 from Ventura, CA | 1/16/13  
5.0
Great item

Works good to store my fuses etc.. and first aid gear. Also use it for my shooting range gear ie. clips, ammo, glasses etc.


By Timbo P from Charleston, SC | 9/20/12  
5.0
Great product

Mounted mine on a tuffy security deck - great product.


By TxJK from Houstin, Texas | 4/24/12  
4.0
Excellent Product

Very strong product. was able to empty my toolbox and spread approx 40 lbs of tools between the 2 bags.


By Dragoon from West Monroe, LA | 3/22/11  
5.0
A must have

The only bad thing I can say is that there is limited placement because if you try and play ouch too low, it gets in the way of closing the tail gate.


By Jimmy C from Spring, TX | 1/30/11